Welcome to Sarajevo

1997/Color/100 mins/UK

Category Country Focus: UK: Retrospective - Michael Winterbottom
Director Michael Winterbottom
Producer Ismet Arnautalic, Graham Broadbent, Damian Jones
Screenplay Frank Cottrell Boyce
Cinematography Daf Hobson
Editor Trevor Waite
Music Adrian Johnston
Set Geraghty
Costume Janty Yates
Cast Stephen Dillane, Kerry Fox, Marisa Tomei, Woody Harrelson, Goran Visnjic, Emira Nusevic
Production Companies Film Four Distributors (in U.K.), Miramax (in U.S.)
World Sales Film Four Intl., London
Festival/Awards Cannes, 1997

Michael Henderson, a British foreign correspondent is stationed in Sarajevo, during the war in Bosnia. The city is under siege from enemy artillery, positionned in the hills that circle the city. Henderson, his cameraman Greg ans producer Jane Carson, file regular reports from the city, for the television news in Britain. Henderson discovers an orphanage, situated on the front line, under continuous bombardment from artillery fire. Horrified by the terrible conditions the children live under, he repeatedly films reports from the orphanage urging the international community to take action to remove the children to safety. Frustrated by the lack of reponse and no longer able to maintain journalistic detachment, he determines to smuggle one of the children back to England.

Michael Winterbottom
Michael Winterbottom was born in Blackburn in 1961. He made his directorial debut in 1988 with the Ingmar Bergman documentary's "The Magic Lantern" and "The Director", winner of Best Documentary at the Valladolid Film Festival. His television credits include the BAFTA award winning series "Cracker" and "Family". He made his feature film directorial debut with "Butterfly Kiss" in 1995 and since then has went on to make over 30 films. Michael Winterbottom has been at Cannes "Welcome to Sarajevo", "Wonderland" and "24 Hour Party People" competing for Palme d'Or over the years.

Selected Filmography:
Butterfly Kiss (1995),
Jude (1995),
Welcome to Sarajevo (1997),
Wonderland (1999),
24 Hour Party People (2002),
9 Songs (2004),
A Cock and Bull Story (2005),
The Road to Guantanamo (2006),
Everyday (2012)